Online tools to learn/practise languages

I had a quiet day today so I spent some time looking for ways to improve my intermediate Spanish and basic Hungarian. I came across two websites that may be a good idea – if you have the time and dedication to learn online:

My Language Exchange – An online community of people looking forward to practice their second language, with “over 1 million members from over 133 countries, practicing 115 languages”, which looks quite impressive.

Livemocha: currently a beta site which promises to be the “first of its kind web based language learning solution integrating online instructional content with a global community of language learners”. They also have a blog, and I did check the jobs page but there is not need for a Portuguese speaking translator/journalist at the moment, :). I have signed up for courses in Spanish and French, and while it is still beta version, it is free!

